Ground Rules for Unemployment

Well. It happened. I was expecting it, but still. Ten days before Christmas, too. Fortunately, I was anticipating it and my resume is up and running. Have interviewed with one recruiter already since Friday, and should be meeting with another next week. There are some interesting positions out there; things that would encompass both my writing and my recent experience with Medicare and insurance.

But I’m not going to hold my breath.

Filing my unemployment claim was depressing, but I refuse to sit and mope. I have plenty to do, marketing a book I edited and published, getting the finance and legal stuff straight, finishing up the Christmas stuff and organizing the photos and adventures from the past year. I’ve also worked with a lot of great people who are independent contractors and small business owners, and I’d love to start a freelance business on the side.

But, first things first. Making a plan.

Amy’s Ground Rules for Unemployment

  1. Get out of bed by 8 am every day. No excuses.
  2. Exercise daily, either on the half marathon training plan or just walking the dog every day.
  3. Spend 15 minutes cleaning up my office every day. Even if it’s pretty much clean, there are always receipts to enter, stuff to file, drawers to clean out, etc.
  4. Spend 15 minutes every day clearing out my other living spaces. Bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, car (ha!)
  5. Spend 15 minutes blogging every day (okay, well, today I’ve spent an hour but I’ve written two posts! I think this will get easier as time goes on.)
  6. Work two hours on a freelance project every day (at least). Hoping this amount goes up as time goes on!
  7. Search and compile full-time jobs on Mondays; then, apply to two per day.
  8. Volunteer once a week. (Habitat for Humanity tomorrow! Philabundance next week. Also interested in visiting a nursing home.)
  9. One craft project a week. (I have maybe a hundred craft projects in progress or planned. Hoping to make a dent, but creativity breeds creativity and whenever I finish one there are at least two more waiting to take their place.
  10. Limiting myself to two coffees a week, and no eating out alone (no more fast food!) I need to just get out of the house once in awhile, and coffee shops are a great place to get some work done.
  11. Write, creatively, 1000 words a day, 2000 if I don’t have to leave the house for any reason. :)

I’m looking forward to this new life, I have to say. I used to have a pretty wicked commute, and it was tough to find time or energy to get anything extra done by the time I got home. Being unemployed is going to be like getting 10 hours a day back. Hopefully the freelance part will take off before the unemployment runs out!

I’m posting this on my bulletin board at next to my computer so I can stay focused. It’s a daily checklist. Anyone else a stay-at-home worker, or unemployed, and have any tips to share?

About thegetoutgirl

Outdoor Adventurer, Explorer, Writer
This entry was posted in focus, Unemployment, volunteering, work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

