Book Review: Crossed by Ally Condie (Matched Trilogy)

So much for blogging every week! I keep falling off the wagon! But NaNoWriMo is coming, and I sure don’t want to miss a whole month of blogging…. getting a few ready for the future. :)

Anyway, here’s my review of “Crossed” by Ally Condie. I finished this ages ago, like in September! #slacking

Crossed Cover

Cassia has been separated from Ky and Xander, and wrangles her way out to the Outer Provinces, where, after a series of near-misses, she finally meets up with Ky, and the enemy of the Society, joining forces to try to take it down from the inside.

This book alternates between Ky’s and Cassia’s points of view, and I like the format. The description of the Carving is lovely, and I like the idea of a small alcove of rebels living out of range of the Society, preserving a little of the life they used to have. Is it for naught?

Jeez I’m pretty bad at book reviews. How do you go into detail without giving too much away? I want people to read the book, not find out what happens. At any rate, the poetic feeling continues, and I like it, although I think overall I’m still slightly against present-tense writing. I also like Cassia’s new “friend,” Ivie, and Ky’s interaction with his compadre in the Outer Provinces, Vick.

In other news, apparently a “Matched” movie is in the works (woohoo!), and you can download a Party Kit from the book’s official website. Guess what I’ll be doing for the premiere!

(And here’s the link to this review on Goodreads, not sure why my little widget thingy isn’t working…)

About amyhaha

YA Writer, Editor, Publisher, Community Builder, Dog Lover, Knitter, Adventurer. DFTBA.
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Crossed by Ally Condie (Matched Trilogy)

  1. Tova says:

    Sequels are tricky business, and I think Crossed is one of the better ones out there. The dramatically different setting mixed things up nicely, and Ivie was well done and a good addition. And watching Ky and Cassia search for each other kind of made my heart explode x)

  2. amyhaha says:

    I kind of had a girl crush on Ivie! Although she annoyed me a little by the end, which I think was exactly what was supposed to happen. She was getting in the way of Ky and Cassia! Nooo!

    A friend of mine teaches 8th grade literature and she said that a lot of her girls hated Xander for that reason…! I really felt bad for him, way more so than I did for Gale (although i felt bad for him too!)

    Thanks for commenting :)

Leave a Reply

