Book Review: Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer

Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer Book Cover

I’ll be honest, I came into this expecting not to like it much, because 1) I knew the story of McCandless, and had already formed opinions, and 2) I completely and totally LOVED the movie, from the howling, gorgeous Eddie Vedder soundtrack to the adorable shirtless Emile and the breathtaking cinematography. (I even liked Kristen Stewart’s awkwardness. #irony.)

So all that combined, plus being a dweeby adventure wannabe myself, I expected to just write this off, reading it because all my other adventure friends had read it. Guy shoulda been more prepared, why dinnhe take a map, etc. But I liked the story, the piecing together of McCandless’s last years, and correlating the adventure-seeker in human nature with other famous (and infamous) wilderness-seekers over the years. It wasn’t quite as lovely as the movie, and Vince Vaughn wasn’t there, but it was still an interesting exploration of mankind’s spirit of adventure.

Be my friend on Goodreads!

In other news, still managing to stay in full-on NaNoWriMo mode; hoping to finally finish my NaNo Blog post today!

About amyhaha

YA Writer, Editor, Publisher, Community Builder, Dog Lover, Knitter, Adventurer. DFTBA.
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer

  1. I haven’t read the book but I did see the movie. I remember reading the article in the paper around the time this happened. I pondered in my mind how did it happen. When the movie came out I had to see it, now I am going to have to read the book.

    • amyhaha says:

      I have to say, I think this is the one case where I liked the movie better. But probably only because of Eddie Vedder! The book was still very interesting though, Definitely worth a read, especially for anyone who has–or used to have–a little wanderlust. :)

Leave a Reply

